March 22, 2023

St. Paul, Minn. – Metropolitan State University announced several scholarship awards last week. Ten Metropolitan State University students recently received Travelers Scholars Program Scholarship awards of $5,500. This scholarship fund is aimed at preparing students for careers in the insurance and financial services industry, and is for students majoring in accounting, business administration, computer science, finance, marketing and other fields of study from which Travelers recruits prospective employees.

The recipients of the awards are: Yijun Liu, Circle Pines; Benjamin Bradley, Coon Rapids; Olga Tsygankova, Eagan; Keith Vorderbruggen, Inver Grove Heights; Wenmi Clark, Lakeville; Charisse Brown, Minneapolis; Jon Walker, Saint Paul; Lorena Walker, Saint Paul; Amanda Yoch, Shoreview; and Seema Afsheen, Winston-Salem, N.C.

Metropolitan State University student Mai Xiong, Minneapolis, recently received a scholarship of $2,200 from the Nancy Latimer Early Childhood Fund.

This endowed scholarship with funds provided by a grant to the Metropolitan State University Foundation from the McKnight Foundation, honors the 20-year commitment and contribution of Nancy Latimer to quality early childhood education while serving the McKnight Foundation as senior program officer.

Metropolitan State University student Tong Xiong, Saint Paul, received a scholarship of $1,300 from the Gomez Family Endowed Scholarship. The scholarship is provided through the generous contributions of the Maria and Ramon Gomez family.

Nine Metropolitan State University students recently received Reginald and Frances Coakley Ames Scholarships, ranging from $1,500 to $1,940 for residents of Dakota, Ramsey or Washington counties.

The recipients of the awards are: Courtney Brown, Cottage Grove; Michelle Felling, Saint Paul; Zachary Jansen, Saint Paul; Kim Nguyen, Saint Paul; Mai Vue, Saint Paul; Lorena Walker, Saint Paul; Amanda Yoch, Shoreview; Eric Garza, Woodbury; and Mark Wackerfuss, Woodbury.

Seven students recently received Oehlke Family Scholarships, ranging from $1,000 to $2,178, and for juniors and seniors in the university’s College of Nursing and Health Sciences.

The recipients of the awards are: Cheng Vang, Brooklyn Center; Cynthia Garley, Brooklyn Park; Anna Kistner, Eden Prairie; Gladys Karuru, Minneapolis; Abaynesh Tezera, Saint Paul; Steve Mandieka, Shakopee; and Angela McLain, Shakopee.

Eight Metropolitan State University students recently received Kopp Presidential Scholarships, ranging from $2,000 to $3,000, provided through the contribution of Lee Kopp of Kopp Family Foundation.

The recipients are: Katrina Lussier-Erickson, Brook Park; De’Vonna Pittman, Brooklyn Park; Nico Wallat, Brooklyn Park; Brittany Schweim, Chaska; Courtney Brown, Cottage Grove; Elizabeth Ongjoco, Lakeville; Nina Furman, Minneapolis; and Tong Xiong, Saint Paul.

Three students have been selected recipients of the 2010–2011 Forrest W. King Textbook Scholarship awards of $115 each. They are awarded by financial need and are one-time only scholarships.

The recipients of the awards are: Brandi Baker, Saint Paul; Mai Yang, Saint Paul; and Mark Wackerfuss, Woodbury.

Seventeen Metropolitan State University students recently received Urban Teacher Scholarship awards. The amounts ranged from $500 to $1,500 and are for students enrolled in the Urban Teacher Program.

The recipients are: Adrea Shoebottom, Circle Pines; Karen Schmitz, Eden Prairie; Jamily Johnson, Maple Grove; Tracy Klug, Maplewood; Nemera Bula, Minneapolis; Mohamoud Fiqi, Minneapolis; Gerald Girouard, Minneapolis; Heidi Grassbaugh, Minneapolis; Alexis May, Minneapolis; Johanna Meyer, Minneapolis; Cari-Ana Garcia Luna, Saint Louis Park; Brandi Baker, Saint Paul; Bashir Diriye, Saint Paul; Chiuping Liu, Saint Paul; Jennifer Reiling, Saint Paul; Sabra Heimerl, White Bear Lake; and Mark Wackerfuss, Woodbury.

Metropolitan State University student Mousumi Munmun, Eagan, recently received 
a Marilyn T. Bryant Endowed Scholarship award of $2,000. This scholarship was established by Marilyn T. Bryant, a trustee emerita of the Metropolitan State University Foundation and former chair of the Reatha Clark King Endowed Scholarship Committee, and is awarded to a College of Management graduate student with a GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Metropolitan State University, a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system, provides high-quality, affordable academic and professional degree programs at the bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral levels.  It is the only state university in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *